Thursday 29 November 2018

Flavours of the Month: November 2018...

Carpenter classics, ascending zombies, and the biggest videogame release of the year are just some of what's been setting the tone of my November 2018...

Click "READ MORE" below to see this month's looks, sounds, vibes & flavours...

Sunday 25 November 2018

FWOAN at Top Indie Film Awards...

For Want of a Nail has done rather well at the Top Indie Film Awards for October 2018.

In addition to a win for Best Director, FWOAN also received seven nominations including Best Short, Best Original Idea, and Best Writing!

Check out their website HERE for the full list of nominations and wins in all categories.

Our other nominations came in the Cinematography, Editing, Music, and Sound categories.

Click "READ MORE" below for the rest of the laurels...

Wednesday 14 November 2018

Nail Gun Massacre (Terry Lofton & Bill Leslie, 1985) Blu-Ray Review

Find more exploitation reviews here.

“Now, now. You shouldn't really fall to pieces over me.” Cheaper than a chainsaw, pointier than a pointy thing, this low budget revenge-fuelled slasher brings bargain basement gore to the woods of rural Texas where a maniac with an aversion to amorous couples and construction workers is on the rampage. Cobbled together by determined first-time film makers and exploited by unscrupulous distributors for decades, the journey towards wider recognition has been an arduous one for Nail Gun Massacre, a gritty DIY horror from the heyday of the video cassette that is adored just as much for its unintentional goofs as it is for its scripted sarcasm...

Click “READ MORE” below to continue the review and see more screenshots…

Saturday 10 November 2018

That's TV Surrey - Report on FWOAN

"For Want Of A Nail" has just been covered in a video report by That's TV Surrey, featuring interviews with Producer Ali Causon and Director Lucy Joan Barnes. You can check it out via YouTube or on their Facebook page.

You can also view That's TV Surrey in the local area on Freeview channels 7 and 8.

Click "READ MORE" below for the Facebook embed...

Tuesday 6 November 2018

FWOAN Moves into Annual Nominations...

"For Want of a Nail" won Best Short Drama at the Changing Face International Film Festival back in September for the monthly event, and now we have progressed into the nominations for the annual event!

The full nomination list is:
Are your Volleyball?! | Mohammad Bakhshi (IRAN)
Avery Road | Dustin Curtis Murphy (USA)
Casting of an Innocent Women | Jacob Thomas Pilgaard (DENMARK)
Excursion to the Mountains | Dermot Daly and Ivan Mack (UK)
For Want Of A Nail | Lucy Joan Barnes (UK)
GAB | (La Vie Parigo) Gazanfer Biricik (FRANCE)
I'm Sorry (Fyrirgefðu - útskriftarmynd Ingunnar Míu) | Lovisa Lara (ICELAND)
Mother's Day | GP2 Entertainment - Peter Koevari & Greg Powell (AUSTRALIA)
Tag, You're It Film | Corey Donaldson(AUSTRALIA)
The Morning After | Leanne Mangan (AUSTRALIA)
The Nixie (Świtezianka) | Julia Bui Ngoc (POLAND)
This is Home | Jason P. Schumacher GreyDuck Productions (USA)
Torment | Luciana Caplan (USA)
We've also been nominated in the Editing and Set Design categories:
Bryngeir Wattnes (I'm Sorry Fyrirgefðu - útskriftarmynd Ingunnar Míu | Iceland)
Gregg Houston (Somewhere in their Heads Curse Of Lono | UK)
Harry Assouline (New York 2150 | USA)
Nick Sutton (Mumpsimus and Halcyon Discord | UK)
Paul Anthony Nelson (After Nightfall | Australia)
Ryan Tyan (For Want Of A Nail | UK)
Kate Ingram (Wheels of Fortune | Australia)
Nicole Zimmer (Okay | Canada)
Olivia Venables (For Want Of A Nail | UK)
Tony Gary (Dandelion | USA)

Saturday 3 November 2018

FWOAN Wins at Mindfield...

Some more great news from the festival circuit - For Want Of A Nail has received a Platinum Award for Best Short Film at the Mindfield Film Festival in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

There are five categories of award for Best Short - Diamond, Platinum, Gold, Silver, and Bronze.

Find the full list of winners HERE.

Thursday 1 November 2018

FWOAN Wins at DMOFF...

Groovy news from the Direct Monthly Online Film Festival - I won the award for Best Screenwriter!

You can check out the full list of winners HERE.